Houston, TX – (WiredPRNews.com) Lone Star State motorists who go to renew their basic auto insurance policies after Jan. 1, 2011, will find that they will be better protected by their insurers — whether they like it or not. That’s because, as of the beginning of the new year, the minimum amount of coverage required of drivers in order to be in compliance with the state’s financial responsibility laws will increase by $15,000.
But Texans do not have to panic. Although minimum levels of coverages will be raised, an end to the availability of cheap liability insurance in Texas is not on the way. As the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) states in its consumer guide, “The extra cost of higher coverage tends to be relatively low.”
This new change is part of a two-step increase that was approved by lawmakers in 2007. At that time, motorists in Texas were required to carry 20/40/15 coverage, which is an abbreviated way of saying that drivers had to carry $20,000 in bodily injury liability for one person hurt in an accident, $40,000 for two people or more hurt and $15,000 for property damage liability.
The first part of the gradual increase went into effect in April 2008, when the minimums were pushed up to 25/50/25.
As of 2011, they will be brought up slightly further to 30/60/25.
Although a $15,000 increase may seem like a lot, the corresponding bump in premiums should not be devastating.
To learn more about getting cheap liability insurance in Texas, readers can go to http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com/texas/how-to-get-cheap-liability-auto-insurance-in-texas.htm where visitors will find informative articles on finding coverage and will be able to shop for an affordable policy by using the free quote-comparison generator.
Online Auto Insurance, LLC
8667 Haven Ave Ste 100
Rancho Cucamonga, Ca 91730
Phone: (909) 912-1855