Nashville, TN (WiredPRNews.com) Members of the Tennessee House of Representatives have been considering a bill that would escalate the fines for driving uninsured in the state. An estimated one-quarter of Tennessee drivers lacked car insurance coverage in 2009.
Currently, the fine for a first offense in the state is up to $100. The bill would change that to be $250 for a first offense and $500 for subsequent convictions. In addition, anyone who is unable to show proof of insurance more than once within a three-year period will have their vehicles impounded.
Most states require drivers to have insurance and to carry proof of that coverage with them in their vehicles, but the penalties for failure to do so vary considerably.
Fines for driving without auto insurance in Alabama or Mississippi, for instance, are much higher than the current fines for the same offense in Tennessee. Getting caught behind the wheel uninsured in those states could leave the offender with a $500 fine and a suspension of driving privileges. Alabama’s laws also require that the offender’s registration be suspended until proof of coverage is provided, and there is a $100 fee for reinstatement of the registration.
The Tennessee legislature is also considering a bill that would require law enforcement officers to ask to see proof of coverage during a stop for any type of traffic violation.
To learn more about this and other coverage issues, readers can go to http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com/alabama/ where they will have access to a number of resource pages and a quote-comparison generator that can help residents get covered quickly.