Atlanta, GA – (WiredPRNews.com) OnlineAutoInsurance.com has published a new resource page informing Georgia car insurance consumers on the mandatory requirements for coverage and the penalties for violating those requirements.
Like the vast majority of states, Georgia has laws in place stating that drivers must carry continuous coverage on their autos and that their policies must meet minimum levels of protection. In addition, auto insurance is required to register a vehicle and to renew, replace or transfer existing Ga. plates.
If a motorist is pulled over by a law enforcement officer and fails to produce proper proof of insurance but actually does have a policy in place, this can result in a $25 fine. But if it turns out that he or she has actually committed a misdemeanor offense by driving an unprotected vehicle, the offender could be subject to a $200-to-$1,000 fine, vehicle impoundment, license suspension and/or up to a year in jail.
Rather than face these penalties, motorists in the Peach State may prefer to get a policy that meets the state minimum requirements. In order to satisfy those requirements, it must provide for at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability protection as well as $25,000 in property damage liability protection. Although a policy with these levels of financial protection will satisfy a drivers’ legal obligation, they should also be advised that many industry experts recommend getting higher levels.
To access the new page, readers can go to http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com/georgia/car-insurance-requirements/ where visitors will also be able to search for a quality Georgia insurance policy for free by using the quote-comparison generator.
Online Auto Insurance, LLC
8667 Haven Ave Ste 100
Rancho Cucamonga, Ca 91730
Phone: (909) 912-1855