09/29/2013 // 1-800-Car-Wreck (Press Release) // 1800-Car-Wreck // (press release)
A newspaper article highlighted the new Texas driving laws that took effect September 1. Of note, changes cover leaving an accident scene, cellphone use around schools, passing a stopped school bus, and protecting Texas Department of Transportation work crews.
Perhaps the biggest change concerns drivers who are involved in deadly accidents. This change was prompted by the fact that so many drivers involved in serious accidents fled. Many likely did so because they had been drinking and the penalty for leaving the scene was less severe than the penalty for intoxication manslaughter. Now, the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident involving injury or death is the same as the penalty for intoxication manslaughter. A person convicted of this offense will receive 2-20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Police hope the tougher penalties will not only deter drivers from fleeing but also encourage them to render aid to the victims.
Texas already prohibits cellphone use in active school zones, unless the vehicle is stopped or the driver is using a hands-free device. Now, the ban applies to all school property, including parking lots and dropoff lanes. Violators may be fined up to $200. Lawmakers also increased the fine for passing a school bus when its flashing lights and stop signs are active. Violators can now be fined $500-$1,250.
Texas drivers already know to slow down or move over for police cars, fire trucks, and ambulances. Now, they will need to do so when approaching Texas Department of Transportation crews. Violators can be fined up to $2,000.
To learn more about these new laws, contact a personal injury lawyer in your area. This article is presented by the personal injury/accident lawyers at Eberstein & Witherite, LLP. For inquiries, call 214.378.6665 or email a witherite(at)ewlawyers.com.
Address: Dallas, TX
Url: Dallas Car Wreck Lawyers – 1-800-Car-Wreck